Print this page
Thursday, 23 March 2017 13:31

News from the Planning Department

MAY 2017  -  Elk County Hazard Mitigation Plan - Citizen's Participation Survey

FEMA, the Federal Emergency Management Agency defines Hazard Mitigation Planning as the process of figuring out how to reduce or eliminate the loss of life and property damage resulting from natural hazards such as floods, earthquakes, tornadoes, landslides, wildfires and more. Mitigation planning involves risk assessment, estimating losses in the event of a natural disaster and determining how to reduce that risk by putting measures in place before a natural disaster occurs.

The Elk County Emergency Management Agency created a hazard mitigation plan in 2011. FEMA requires that the plan be updated every five (5) years. Elk County EMA has been working in cooperation with The Elk County Planning Department on this update. The update will include any new hazards identified, as well as hazards that may have occurred after adoption of the 2011 plan. We will also be looking for information on any pre-disaster hazard mitigation projects that may have been recommended in the initial plan and have been started and/or completed.

As citizens of Elk County, your input is important. We would like information about your needs for disaster preparedness that will help improve public response and identify risk reduction activities. Please take a moment to complete the attached survey so that we can better gauge your knowledge of hazard mitigation and determine what you feel are the biggest priorities for future hazard mitigation planning in Elk County.

Click HERE to open the survey - you can fill out the survey, save, and email it to the Planning Director.  The survey works best using the CHROME or INTERNET EXPLORER browsers.

APRIL 2017  -  C. Riley Stoy Award Presented

Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Coordinator Tracy Gerber was recently presented with the C. Riley Stoy award for Community Development Achievement.  Tracy was chosen from all CDBG Coordinators across the Commonweath to receive this award.  Pictured below are Commissioner Dan Freeburg, Tracy Gerber, and Commissioner Jan Kemmer.

Read 1695 times Last modified on Wednesday, 07 June 2017 14:31