Wednesday, 04 May 2016 18:17


The duties of the commissioners are many and varied.  They are chief administrators of the county and have representation from the two major political parties.  Their administrative powers and duties encompass registrations and elections; assessment of person and property; appointment of county personnel; fiscal management and borrowing or lending funds for capital projects.  The County Commissioners are also members of the Salary, Retirement, and Prison Boards.

Facts regarding County Government: 

The chief governing body of the County of Elk are the 3 Commissioners.  The Commissioners term of office is a 4 year term.  Their responsibilities are to act as managers and administrators of the fiscal affairs of the County.  The Board of Commissioners oversee several departments – Planning Department, Children & Youth Services, IT Department, Tax Claim and Tax Assessment, Elections, Veterans, Fiscal Department and the Prison. The Commissioners' are in charge of the overall  management of the county budget which is currently $10,606,315 for 2009 with the Prison being the highest annual operating expense. Because Pennsylvania is a Commonwealth, the Commissioners' do not have authority over the local municipalities. Under certain limited circumstances the commissioners can enact ordinances that affect a local municipality only in the absence of local ordinance. For example,  the current county-wide subdivision ordinance does affect 4 municipalities since they lack their own local subdivision ordinance. However, if they choose to enact their own local ordinance to govern subdivision, then the local ordinance immediately supersedes the county's.


Board of Commissioners  

Office Staff

Janis E. Kemmer , Chairperson Elk County Courthouse Annex
300 Center Street,P.O. Box 448
Ridgway, PA 15853
(814) 776-1161
(814) 776-5379--Fax
Matthew G. Quesenberry, Sr., Commissioner Beverly Lenze, Fiscal Officer
Daniel R. Freeburg , Commissioner Chris Lilja, Receptionist
  Sue Schaut, Fiscal Assistant
Jean L. Zore, Chief Clerk  
Tom Wagner, Solicitor  
  Office Hours  
  8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.  Monday through Friday  

Please check the calendar for the county meetings and holidays.

Read 835 times Last modified on Wednesday, 22 February 2017 15:12
More in this category: « Auditors Coroner »


Elk County Courthouse
250 Main Street
P.O. Box 448
Ridgway, PA 15853

Elk County Courthouse Annex
300 Center Street
P.O. Box 448
Ridgway, PA 15853